Wednesday, April 3, 2019

"It's never too late to look Great" by Maggie Cox book review



Since being over my 50's and my body changing shape I have read many books on fashion on what to wear and what not to wear.  I have found each book offers some insight that I haven't heard before and can learn from.  I liked that "It's never too late to look great!" by Maggie Cox suggested to be true to yourself. 

The book is definitely worth a read for the many tips to find your unique look.  The many tips help its reader to not give up and look frumpy just because they are older.  It suggests to look in the mirror, figure out who you are now and how you want to look.  Really made clothes shopping more fun for me. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars.  Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the advance readers copy for my honest review.

Here is the description of the book from Netgalley:

Description

Monday, April 1, 2019

And Then You Were Gone by R.J. Jacobs- Book Review


"And Then You Were Gone"  by R.J. Jacobs was the prefect book to read when I wanted a little bit of the unknown.  This book kept me guessing what was going to happen next, which character to trust and definitely what the ending was going to be!  Unfortunately for me I was not able to read the book in one sitting, but when I did get to continue the book I was able to pick right back up where I left off.  I liked that the main character had a mental illness that kept her and others questioning her story.  The reason behind Paolo's disappearance and the murders was a good story. Overall I would definitely recommend this book 4 out of 5 stars! Thank you to Netgalley and the Publisher for my copy of this book for my honest opinion.

Here is Amazon.com's description of the book:

For fans of B. A. Paris and Mary Kubica comes a propulsive, twisting psychological thriller that asks, How can you save someone else if you can’t save yourself?

After years of learning how to manage her bipolar disorder, Emily Firestone finally has it under control. Even better, her life is coming together: she’s got a great job, her own place, and a boyfriend, Paolo, who adores her. So when Paolo suggests a weekend sailing trip, Emily agrees―wine, water, and the man she loves? What could be better? But when Emily wakes the morning after they set sail, the boat is still adrift…and Paolo is gone.

A strong swimmer, there’s no way Paolo drowned, but Emily is at a loss for any other explanation. Where else could he have gone? And why? As the hours and days pass by, each moment marking Paolo’s disappearance, Emily’s hard-won stability begins to slip.

But when Emily uncovers evidence suggesting Paolo was murdered, the investigation throws her mania into overdrive, even as she becomes a person of interest in her own personal tragedy. To clear her name, Emily must find the truth―but can she hold onto her own sanity in the process?

Saturday, February 16, 2019

The Beantown Girls by Jane Healey, Book Review

 
   I really enjoyed reading this book!! The girls personalities reminded me of the girls from one of my favorite shows "The Midwifes".  What started out as a search for one of the girls fiancee that is declared missing in World War 2 turned into a life changing adventure for each of the girls and the lives they touched.  The author Jane Healey really described each of the characters so well she had me worried and cheering for each of them.

This would make a great movie or series!!!  I would love to find out how the girls lives continued after the war.  5 stars!!!!!  Thank you to Netgalley and the Author and Publisher of this book for my free copy for my honest review.

Here is the description of the book from Amazon:

A novel of love, courage, and danger unfolds as World War II’s brightest heroines—the best of friends—take on the front lines.
1944: Fiona Denning has her entire future planned out. She’ll work in city hall, marry her fiancé when he returns from the war, and settle down in the Boston suburbs. But when her fiancé is reported missing after being shot down in Germany, Fiona’s long-held plans are shattered.
Determined to learn her fiancé’s fate, Fiona leaves Boston to volunteer overseas as a Red Cross Clubmobile girl, recruiting her two best friends to come along. There’s the outspoken Viviana, who is more than happy to quit her secretarial job for a taste of adventure. Then there’s Dottie, a shy music teacher whose melodious talents are sure to bring heart and hope to the boys on the front lines.
Chosen for their inner strength and outer charm, the trio isn’t prepared for the daunting challenges of war. But through it all come new friendships and romances, unforeseen dangers, and unexpected dreams. As the three friends begin to understand the real reasons they all came to the front, their courage and camaraderie will see them through some of the best and worst times of their lives.


Tuesday, February 5, 2019

The Girls at 17 Swann Street written by Yara Zgheib Book Review


     Today is publication day for the book "The Girls at 17 Swann Street".  I just finished this book and had a very hard time putting it down.  The book is a hard and descriptive look at Anna's fight with anorexia and depression. Anna goes to 17 Swann Street for inpatient treatment where she meets other girls dealing with eating disorders.  Reading the stories of the other girls and their struggles with eating and how Anna rationalized giving up food and then her obvious struggle to gain some weight, really helped me to understand how easy it is to get the disease and how hard to overcome it. This is a very thought provoking book and would make a great book club selection. I definitely rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.  Thank you to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for the opportunity to read this book for my honest opinion.

Here is Amazon's description of the book-

The chocolate went first, then the cheese, the fries, the ice cream. The bread was more difficult, but if she could just lose a little more weight, perhaps she would make the soloists’ list. Perhaps if she were lighter, danced better, tried harder, she would be good enough. Perhaps if she just ran for one more mile, lost just one more pound.
Anna Roux was a professional dancer who followed the man of her dreams from Paris to Missouri. There, alone with her biggest fears – imperfection, failure, loneliness – she spirals down anorexia and depression till she weighs a mere eighty-eight pounds. Forced to seek treatment, she is admitted as a patient at 17 Swann Street, a peach pink house where pale, fragile women with life-threatening eating disorders live. Women like Emm, the veteran; quiet Valerie; Julia, always hungry. Together, they must fight their diseases and face six meals a day.
Every bite causes anxiety. Every flavor induces guilt. And every step Anna takes toward recovery will require strength, endurance, and the support of the girls at 17 Swann Street.

Thursday, January 31, 2019

The Dream Daughter by Diane Chamberlain Book Review


   I have read most of Diane Chamberlain's books.  I was looking forward to reading "The Dream Daughter" but when I started reading it and it involved time travel I didn't think I would enjoy it.  But I think this is one of her best yet.  The book really made me think how I would handle some of the situations the main character Carly Sears had to get through. She was much more brave than I think I could ever be.  This is a great book club book, there will be a lot of discussion revolving this book.  Definitely a 5 out of 5 stars!!  Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher of this book for my ARC copy for honest review.

Here is Amazon's description of the book:

When Carly Sears, a young woman widowed by the Vietnam war, receives the news that her unborn baby girl has a heart defect, she is devastated. It is 1970, and she is told that nothing can be done to help her child. But her brother-in-law, a physicist with a mysterious past, tells her that perhaps there is a way to save her baby. What he suggests is something that will shatter every preconceived notion that Carly has. Something that will require a kind of strength and courage she never knew existed. Something that will mean an unimaginable leap of faith on Carly's part.
And all for the love of her unborn child.
The Dream Daughter is a rich, genre-spanning, breathtaking novel about one mother's quest to save her child, unite her family, and believe in the unbelievable. Diane Chamberlain pushes the boundaries of faith and science to deliver a novel that you will never forget.

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

We Never Asked For Wings by Vanessa Diffenbaugh Book Review



After reading the book The Language of Flowers, I was really looking forward to reading Vanessa Diffenbaugh's book We Never Asked for Wings. This book was definitely worth the wait. I highly recommend this book. The family had some hard struggles to overcome and I found myself cheering for the family and wanting to continue to read to find out how it would end. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for allowing me to read this book for review. A 4 out of 5!

Here is Amazon's description of the book:

From the beloved New York Times bestselling author of The Language of Flowers comes her much-anticipated new novel about young love, hard choices, and hope against all odds. For fourteen years, Letty Espinosa has worked three jobs around San Francisco to make ends meet while her mother raised her children—Alex, fifteen, and Luna, just six—in their tiny apartment on a forgotten spit of wetlands near the bay. But now Letty’s parents are returning to Mexico, and Letty must step up and become a mother for the first time in her life. Navigating this new terrain is challenging for Letty, especially as Luna desperately misses her grandparents and Alex, who is falling in love with a classmate, is unwilling to give his mother a chance. Letty comes up with a plan to help the family escape the dangerous neighborhood and heartbreaking injustice that have marked their lives, but one wrong move could jeopardize everything she’s worked for and her family’s fragile hopes for the future.

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

The Southern Living Party Cookbook by Elizabeth Heiskell Book Review

                                                                         


I have been a long time Southern Living fan.  This cookbook is one that any Southern Living fan or cookbook fan would like and need in their collection.  The recipes are very easy to understand so this book would make a great first cookbook and gift.  A lot of the recipes were new to me and I loved the different menus for different occasions. I would rate this cookbook a 5!  Thank you to Netgalley for my free copy in exchange for my honest review.

Here is the description from Amazon.com:

This new essential guide to entertaining is divided by occasion, offering a fresh lineup of menus and ideas from Oxford, Mississippi’s go-to caterer for every celebratory scenario life serves up. In this update to the best-selling book of our mothers’ and grandmothers’ era, Elizabeth’s tell-it-like-it-is voice provides a twist to the classic Southern advice that is a refresher for entertainers of any age or experience. Packed with delicious recipes from the original book like Smoked Salmon Canapes, Hot Cheese Squares, and Brandy Alexanders, the book also includes popular picks from the current pages of Southern Living as well as Elizabeth’s treasured recipe box.
The Southern Living Party Cookbook is an entertaining handbook loaded with lifestyle tips and hilarious Heiskell stories, along with lush photography to help you get the look from table setting to plated dish.